PDA

View Full Version : Why do we like mandos so much?

Tillmanator
Sep-12-2007, 7:59pm
Hi folks,

We all totally love the mando here at this site. And even though I'm new to the whole mandolin thing, I can't seem to stop looking at pictures of them and playing mine.... etc. I teach elementary school and three of my students who take guitar (one is actually a former student now in middle school) were so taken with my mando when I brought it to school, that they have all bought their own now. They were totally enthralled with it..... how it looked... how it sounded.... how it felt.

I was wondering if this is inborn in us. I saw a TV show once about how babies (both human and animal) are cute so that the parents will want to care for it. We're designed to like cuteness. The mando is cute. Is that we like it so much?

So what is so appealing about this little instrument? I assume more of you here are men than women (but I'm not sure about that). Do men think it's cute or is there something else? I personally think it's cute! But of course there'e more to it than that. The sound is unique and appealing to my ear.

What really attracts you to the mando rather than guitar or something else?

Steve Cantrell
Sep-12-2007, 8:03pm
For me, it was love at first sight. I love the whole aesthetic of the mandolin--the sound, the feel, the appearance. I knew from the first time I really got my hands on one that I absolutely HAD to have one and learn to play it. Been hanging around here ever since.

Daniel Nestlerode
Sep-12-2007, 8:12pm
Inate liking of mandolin? Possibly. But it is not universal. My wife prefers instruments with voices in lower registers, guitar, mandocello, octave mandolin, and bass.