PDA

View Full Version : A beginner steps out...

merlin
Jul-23-2007, 10:47pm
Hello,

I'm from New Zealand and I have a strong urge to pick up a mandolin and start playing. I'm a complete beginner (well, almost - the last time i played an instrument was 15 years ago. Violin then cello).

I'm not so interested in bluegrass music - i think i'd tend more towards classical/folkey stuff/etc. (not sure if that helps). My price range would be something around $200-$300US. I'm also not so interested in the F-model mandolins - I think I'd probably poke my eye out with that curly bit, I'm that much of a beginner. So generally I'd be after an A model, probably with an oval hole....but I'm very open to suggestions.

For a decent starter I've been recommended either something from the Michael Kelly range, or a Kentucky KM-171/172/174.

By the way, what a fantastic site! There's so much information here!

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Cheers

clarksavage
Jul-23-2007, 10:53pm
Hi Merlin -

My only advice is to go and find some mandolins and play them. I, too, am an oval hole player, I am not so much interested in that F-hole sound, but a more open and expansive oval hole sound. I have a few mandolins and I am still amazed at all the differences in the same style / price range. My biggest advice is find one that is playable, fits your fingers and your lap, and one that you "like to play" ... I have three mandolins here, the one I really play a whole lot happens to be the least expensive and least impressive visually, but it "fits" and "sounds" so wonderful to me. It begs me to play it! I wish that experience for you. Go looking.

Clark

F5G WIZ
Jul-23-2007, 11:34pm
The new Kentucky's sound great and the price would be right in your range. The Mandolin Store has a few and Dennis would treat you right.

DryBones
Jul-24-2007, 6:48am
if you don't want bluegrass then look for a used Mid-Missouri(Big Muddy) in your price range.

LateBloomer
Jul-24-2007, 7:31am