PDA

View Full Version : "Must Know" Old Time Tunes

John Flynn
May-18-2004, 10:54am
There are so many tunes in OT, it's impossible to know them all. I sometimes jam with a great fiddler who has a reputation of knowing "more tunes than anyone." He says he stopped keeping a list at 1,000. But I still sometimes call a tune he doesn't know and I am a relative beginner compared to him. On the other hand, there are tunes that seem to come up time and time again in jams, tunes that good players are kind of expected to know. My goal for the Summer is to make sure my OT tune list (Which just broke 100, but who's counting? LOL!) has all the "must know" tunes on it. These are the tunes that if they get called at an OT jam, anywhere, most people are going to know them.

My nominations are:
Soldier's Joy
Arkansas Traveler
Whiskey Before Breakfast
Cluck Old Hen
Shortnin' Bread
June Apple
Old Joe Clark
Stay All Night (aka "Waterbound")
Angeline the Baker
Eighth of January
Julianne Johnson
Old Molly Hare
Shady Grove

Please post with recommended "must know" additions to the list. Also, if you think something on my list is not a universal "must know" tune, I'd be interested in that also.

Michael H Geimer
May-18-2004, 11:04am
I'm very interested in watching how this list grows, as I really need to pull from it, rather than add to it. But, I think I see one possible addition.

Cripple Creek

- Benig

AlanN
May-18-2004, 11:06am
Dick Staber did a nice record years ago called "Pickin' Round The Cookstove", all OT classics, I'll check tonight and post the titles, one I remember is "Bunch of Keys".

MDW
May-18-2004, 7:22pm
Here's the list of essential OT tunes from the co-mando website:

Soldier's Joy D
Liberty D
Forked Deer D
Angeline the Baker D
Arkansas Traveler D
Bile the Cabbage Down A
Cripple Creek A
Dusty Miller A
Leather Britches G
Bill Cheatham A
Wildwood Flower C
Will the Circle Be Unbroken G
Wayfaring Stranger Am