PDA

View Full Version : Good beginner instrument?

gregjones
May-27-2007, 9:11pm
I got a second chance offer from the seller to buy this for $86.47.

Is this a good buy for a guitarist looking to learn mandolin?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws....CO:US:1 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320119948745&sspagename=ADME:B:SCO:US:1)

Thanks!!

kirkw101
May-27-2007, 9:23pm
to me yes it does look like a decent starter mandolin.
and if you enjoy playing it after a while a new bridge is less than 20 bucks and when put on right it will back a nice improvement.

have fun and do not mind the purist that pop up from time to time.
kirk

Lee Callicutt
May-27-2007, 9:32pm
I have no personal experience with that particular model Washburn, but my Washburn is well made and plays well and sounds good to me.

I'm guessing you know by now that any instrument that makes you want to pick it up and play is a good starter! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

The price looks good, and if I I hadn't already bought another cheapie, I might consider it myself. The seller's feedback looked good.

By way of comparison, Janet Davis sells that model new at $149.00, I believe, if that perspective helps.

jk245
May-27-2007, 10:28pm
From personal experience with instruments of that price range, you can get a dramatic improvement in sound by

>change the strings to $10 D 'Addario EXP74 or J series strings, or similar

>get a tortus pick- a B 'second' might be available from Dave at redbeartrading.com (or use one of the other high price picks like Dawg or Wegens).

Usually these mandos have good action but a weak resonance, meaning sound duration and warmth.

>The idea of changing the bridge might be a good idea, but, first try it out for awhile. The change and setup is easy for a beginner, see
http://folkofthewood.com/page2449.htm

F5G WIZ
May-28-2007, 12:20am
Just a heads up? Many of those second chance offers are fake.

Soupy1957
May-28-2007, 5:48am