PDA

View Full Version : playing in public

stevenmando
May-14-2004, 1:26pm
I think Im going to dive right and start playing in public, but first I have got to get me a good mic system. I go into portland every weekend and I come across so maney musicians on the corners just playing and having fun ,what do you think a man that has never played in public should do , it is advisable to find other mandolin player and then dive right in. I one of those mandolinist that go to bed at night thinking about mandolin and get up the next morning thinking about mandolin and can,t wait till I pick it up and start playing . I read one post some time ago that to be a mandolinist takes a life time and that fine with me because it is great fun playing mandolin. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

John Flynn
May-14-2004, 1:44pm
I started playing mando at church and did that for about 10 years. That really got me comfortable playing in front of a crowd.

When I decided I wanted to start doing more than just fooling around with non-church music, I started taking lessons and going to jams. After a few months, a guitarist I got to know through the jams was having a party and wanted to throw a group together for it. I helped him recruit and rehearse a group from the jam crowd. This new rag-tag group went on to start playing open mike nights and soon, by word of mouth, we started getting requests to play free gigs for friends' and relatives' events. After a few months of this, we started getting offers to play contra dances and other functions for money. Now we are scheduled to play a major festival. This has all happened over the last year. It is blast! Go for it!