PDA

View Full Version : Hard to fret?

old coot
Mar-12-2007, 4:02pm
I've been playing guitar/bass for 25 years or so. Last week bought a mandolin w/out every playing one before.

I'm having a blast with it just playing some scales and chords, getting used to the layout until my tune books show up.

My Eastman 504 seems to be well setup - the action looks to be very low all up the neck, however I have to fret pretty hard to get the notes to ring out well, especially E string 1st fret. The strings may be medium gauge, they seem very taut.

I'm playing scales with thumb behind center of neck. On guitar I mostly do more of a neck in palm and sometimes wrap the thumb over to grab the low E string, but also do the thumb behind the neck for some scaler passages and fingerstyle tunes.

I'm just curious if this is normal? Will I eventually get used to this or do I need to adjust my technique/setup?

I've had some playing related injuy in the past and I've learned to play with a light touch on the guitar, so this is huge concern.

Finally, thanks for having me in your community. I've been lurking here a bit and have found this an excellent resource with great people.

Old Coot http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/coffee.gif

dj coffey
Mar-12-2007, 4:09pm
I have a weber and I thought I had my action down as low as it could go (the screws were practically falling out of the Brekke bridge - well not really). Took it into a luthier for another issue and he suggested he could file down the string slots in the nut to make those first frets even easier to play. Haven't done it yet, but I think I will.

I'm also considering taking up the "thumb behind the neck" position as, after a year of playing, over the past few weeks I seem to be developing some discomfort with my thumb, where the the thumb joint with the palm comes into contact with the neck.

JeffD
Mar-12-2007, 4:14pm