PDA

View Full Version : Time for a string change?

Maryellen
Feb-10-2007, 1:12pm
Hello there,
Im pretty new to the mandolin, but have a feeling I am long overdue for some new stings. I dont know if it's all in my head but the sound coming out of my mandolin sounds pretty unusual and its tuned just fine. I guess i've had the same stings on my mandolin for about 4-5 months now. So how often should they be changed?

DryBones
Feb-10-2007, 1:27pm
I change mine when the A's go funky and won't stay in tune. YMMV

Walter Newton
Feb-10-2007, 1:33pm
It's a matter of personal preference, body chemistry, whether or not you use coated strings, etc...some pros change for every show! I personally change them after about a month.

Sitka
Feb-10-2007, 1:57pm
What Walter said.

I usually change my strings (even coated ones) after about 1 1/2-2 months. There are some on here that change their strings about once a year.

Micah

Maryellen
Feb-10-2007, 2:08pm
Well I guess it wont hurt to change the strings and see how it feels. If i dont like the new feel, well I guess I'll just have to play even more to break them in...no harm in that. Thanks for the help you guys.

John Flynn
Feb-10-2007, 2:57pm
Signs I use to decide I need a string change:
> Won't stay in tune.
> Dull sound. No "ring" to it.
> Lacks volume. Can't hear myself at jams.
> Wound strings get kind of a grayish color compared to new strings.
> I have a big gig coming up that I really want to sound my best for.

The time between changes varies widely with the time of year and how much I have played the strings. Even though they are supposedly "long life," I have blown through a set of EXP coated strings in a weekend at a festival in the summer, where I was playing for hours and sweating like crazy. But then I have gone for two or three months with non-coated strings on a mando I only played occasionally.

mandroid
Feb-11-2007, 1:58am