PDA

View Full Version : Pickup on a new build?

martinedwards
Feb-10-2007, 4:01am
Hi folks, I need your wisdom

I'm building a mando for a guy who plays is an amped acoustic band situation.

Its a guitar shaped mandonaught, but think flattop round soundhole with a normal mando bridge for the purposes of the question!!

Ok, pickup.

shadow piezo bridge?

http://www.stringexpress.co.uk/images/products/shadow_mandolin_picup.jpg

or stick on transducers inside?

http://www.jhs.co.uk/shadow/shb1.jpg

or something else altogether?

I have around the $200 mark (or less) to play with.

any suggestions or wisdom welcome.

Thanks

M

John Flynn
Feb-10-2007, 8:11am
I am no expert, but I had an Alvarez A800 with a Fishman bridge pickup for many years and it was "thumpy," "quacky" and uneven. The instrument had something to do with that, but not everything to do with it. So I am wary of bridge pickups. It also just seems to me that if it is the top that is the most critical component to good acoustic sound, the pickup should be on the top, placed where the sound is best. I am also wary of the pickups that are flat strips that go under a bridge foot. Bridge fit to the top is so critical for good acoustic sound, so it seems to me those pickups would almost have to mess with the acoustic properties somewhat. Just MHO.

The spot pizeo on my Rigel is clear and even, without any disturbing characteristics. So I would lean towards a really good spot pizeo. The McIntyre Feather would be another popular option for you. I have played an internally mounted one on a Mid-mo and it sounded great.

mandroid
Feb-11-2007, 1:54am
another option , Schertler Dynamic contact microphone pickup is made in a variation to be installed internally .
combine the 3 conductor jack end button and a 3 conductor 1/4" plug to XLR cable end and you are able to use mic preamps built in most mixers.