PDA

View Full Version : Monteleone

gibby24
May-05-2004, 9:36pm
First of all I am not knocking John Monteleone. I think his instruments are visually exciting. I know that David Grisman used to play his instruments and I have no personal experience with his mandolins. I also know they cost $25,000 give or take to buy one new. David Grisman always said his 22' Loar was the best he ever heard. In this day of personal endorsement the best players have makers at their feet trying to get them to use their instruments. Part of the Strad violin--D'Angelico guitar--Gibson/Loar mystique is that really big namers chose their instruments to make music with. So, my question is has anyone really famous ever stuck by Mr. M's instruments and made a defining sound with them. Just curious.

BluegrassPhilfromFrance
May-06-2004, 1:14am
Hello,
I have been playing my Monteleone Grand Artist mandolin since 1982 (the year John built it for me) and I have to say that, even though it's not the greatest mandolin I've ever played on (I recently played a 1925 Gibson, that used to belong to Ralph Rinzler, that killed me !!!),it's probably the most versatile instrument I've played since I can play bluegrass, jazz, irish, etc, ... And most of all,I didn't pay 25.000 $ in 1982 http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

jim simpson
May-06-2004, 6:08am
I don't believe that he's really famous but Don Stiernberg played a Monteleone on his '92 recording of Blues Skies w/Greg Cahill. Don also played back up guitar to Jethro Burns on Swing Low Sweet Mandolin on Acoustic Disc.

AlanN
May-06-2004, 7:07am
Hey Phil from France,

I know dat der Rinzler mandolin (thought it was a 1926) and I know dat der mandolin owner. Both are nice guys http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

Jim M.
May-06-2004, 9:25am