PDA

View Full Version : An introduction.

rounDSound
Jan-27-2007, 3:03pm
I stumbled accross this forum while researching the mandolin a few days ago, and decided it might be a great place to stay a while! I am a 19 year old musician currently studying sociology in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

I started playing about 3 weeks ago when I decided to rent a very cheap A-style Epiphone from the local music store for 16 dollars a month. I think I've progressed fairly well, and hope to buy my own mandolin soon.

Here are a few clips I've recorded in the past few days of some tunes I've written on my little Epiphone. I've just been learning by ear, playing what I could figure out. It's not traditional in any sense of the word, but I am proud of my progress.

http://download.yousendit.com/E611AE430E6A79EE
http://download.yousendit.com/7E0E9B4F57FFBF16

I look forward to learning a lot more about this unique instrument, and hearing feedback on my playing so far.

Andy

JEStanek
Jan-27-2007, 3:19pm
Nice clips Andy. Welcome to the Cafe'. Plenty of good sociological watchin' to be had here for sure. You could probably write a paper on the similarities and differences of a virtual and real communities based on interactions, amount of anonymity (even if we know a poster's gender and name) and the different norms used in both areas.

Annnnnndddd... you can get carpet bombed with information on mandos, music recommendations, instrument recommendations, anything. If it's even vaguely mando related you'll get what you're looking for an more here.

Welcome.

Jamie

Bill Snyder
Jan-27-2007, 7:33pm
No offense but I have never heard of yousendit.com and know nothing about you so I am reluctant to download your video. Is there no way to watch your video without downloading it?

rounDSound
Jan-27-2007, 7:41pm