PDA

View Full Version : Dumb strap question

architectx
Jan-22-2007, 8:14am
Okay, now it's more than a little bit obvious that I'm totally new to the mandolin thing...

Anyways, I've been making good progress with my recently acquired MT. Our band at church (for which I play acoustic guitar) is working on a couple of tunes that have some mando parts, so I'm gonna hand my guitar off on those tunes and pick the mando.

Thing is I need a strap. I don't know how to attach a strap to an A style mando. I feel stupid for asking, but could someone enlighten me on how to attach the headstock end? Is it like a guitar without a strap button on the heel? Also, what strap should I buy? Do folks like the Collings straps?

Thanks for the help!

cooper4205
Jan-22-2007, 8:19am
get a leather bootlace and tie it around the neck of the mandolin, under the fretboard extension or you can tie it under the stings right behind the nut. or get strap button installed, nothing wrong with that.

Jim Broyles
Jan-22-2007, 8:27am
A leather shoelace, or something similar, attached to the end hole of the strap and tied around the headstock does the job. Straps are subject to personal taste, but I use the Long Hollow Softy for my F style. It would take some reworking to make it fit an A style, but there are straps sold as A or F straps. Folks have been known to install a strap button on the lower side of the neck heel as well. I did this to a Kentucky 250S I had, but I might not do it to an MT. If you buy a Collings strap, it should have directions for putting it on an A style mandolin.

Avi Ziv
Jan-22-2007, 8:32am