PDA

View Full Version : Mandolin community

tryinghard
Jan-03-2007, 5:26pm
When I first purchased my mandolyn , I had some vague idea about what I was going to do with it. I'd wanted to take up something musical and enhance my life with it. I figured at some point I'd play with some people..so there was an element of being social. As an artist I spend days and days and weeks where I do not see people or have anyone come over. It is a solitary past time. So that an instrument seemed like a good idea to be more social..

Goodneth Gwacious! I wasn't prepared for this. There's a veritable cornicopia of information, and people, and things to do all connected to this sweet little instrument.

I just happened on this site over Christmas and have had such a major boost in my learning curve. There is more than enough for me to really digest . I had no idea that the decision to play the mandolyn could open up a whole new world. Wonderful.

bush-man
Jan-03-2007, 6:17pm
Welcome to our obsession. Pray you don't get MAS, unless you have a huge bank account. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif Lots of helpful friendly people here, we keep the others caged up.

russell

Chadmills
Jan-03-2007, 6:19pm
I'd agree, this site in particular is an amazing resource, and a lot of fun, in addition to all the real world stuff that is reflected here.
Tom

jim_n_virginia
Jan-03-2007, 7:16pm
I've been on here for like 4 years now. I have mando friends all over the country now because of this site. I cannot go to a concert, workshop, festival or jam without meeting several Cafe members. It pretty amazing and cool at the same time.

I have met quite a few friends with my little mandolin, much more than I ever did with a guitar. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

Nathan Kellstadt
Jan-03-2007, 9:03pm