PDA

View Full Version : Question about my mandolin...

Seadog
Jan-01-2007, 11:36pm
I don't know where to post this question, but I am new to the mandolin, okay I'm brand new to music and got a very cheap mandolin to see if it is something I could learn on and if it something I would enjoy. I think, however, my Mandolin is too cheap or built wrong, I can't fret the strings individually (I do know and mean the two together)without touching th next set of strings. What is the spacing suppose to be between string sets? Mine seem way way, way too close together. The width of the fret board just below the nut is 1 3/8 inches...does this seem to small? What is a typical dimension of a Mandolin neck?

Walter Newton
Jan-01-2007, 11:54pm
1-3/8" would be extremely wide, do you mean 1-3/16" (which would be more or less on the wider side of typical)? #I think your best bet would be to find a qualified local teacher to take a look at your instument and show you the ropes!

Bob A
Jan-02-2007, 12:25am
I suspect that the instrument may have poor spacing between the string pairs. At the nut, my F4 has about 3mm distance between the paired strings, and a distance of 6mm between the pairs of strings. (This works out to a tenth of an inch and two tenths, on the other side of the ruler).

You may need to have the notches in the nut and bridge re-cut by someone who knows what he's doing. Don't give up on the mandolin until you've played a good one. The difference might surprise you.

Paul Hostetter
Jan-02-2007, 12:58am