PDA

View Full Version : Good starter mandolin?

totalnewb
Dec-22-2006, 11:58pm
I'm a complete mandolin newbie and was wondering what a good piece to start on would be. As a begginerI'm not looking to spend too much, maybe something around $200. Recommend any good online shops? I'm also looking into F style cause Im interested in bluegrass style.

sunburst
Dec-23-2006, 12:07am
Welcome to the Cafe!
Get ready for numerous posts advising you (correctly, I might add) to stay away from F-style mandolins until you are ready to spend more $$.
Also, be ready for numerous posts advising (again, correctly) to keep your eye on the used market for the best deals in terms of playability vs dollars.
Playability is what you want now. Some $200 mandolins are barely playable, but some are pretty good. There will be plenty of time later to think about sound, tone, volume, and the like when you've learned some stuff and are ready for a higher quality instrument. Try to find a deal that includes a set up, or buy used from someone who has had the mandolin set up before offering it for sale.

totalnewb
Dec-23-2006, 12:17am
Do you have any other more specific pointers for what I should look for? I know VERY LITTLE about what I should be looking for. Some examples would be good.

Is this a good shop for a starter piece? http://themandolinhut.com/

Greenmando
Dec-23-2006, 2:46am
Hi Pablo
Welcome to the cafe.
Just as John mentioned, in your budget you will get a better mandolin in a A style. #For example, even thou it is out of your price range - a Gibson A9 will cost less than a F9 but can sound as good as or better than the F9 at almost half the cost. The scroll is often called a $1000 strap holder. The scroll adds nothing to the tone!
Buying a used mandolin can often save you as much as 50% of the cost of a new instrument.