PDA

View Full Version : Kentucky brand

Sweetpea44
Dec-08-2006, 5:13pm
I was looking at the Kentucky 350S for a beginner mandolin. What do you all think of this mandolin or brand? I spoke to some guys at a local music store and they played several. This one sounded pretty good for the price. I'm just starting out, so I want something nice, but not overly expensive. Thanks!

~Sweetpea

Lane Pryce
Dec-08-2006, 5:19pm
If you are set on a Kentucky go for the 380s and then spring for a top notch setup which includes a new nut and bridge. If you are open to alternatives keep an eye on the classifieds and watch for a used Eastman A. Much better mandolin. Good luck in your search and welcome to the cafe. Lp

cooper4205
Dec-08-2006, 5:26pm
look at this new model the km-505, it's got a radiused ebony board, it's solid spruce top, solid maple back, bone nut, dove-tail joint, and a cool brown color. it lists $50 dollars higher than the 380, but looks a little better made

Kentucky KM-505 (http://sagamusic.com/catalog/details.asp?ProductID=KM-505)

it's says it is hand carved, i wonder if it is still made like the 380s or if it is made like the eastmans- you know, more hands on?

Richard Russell
Dec-08-2006, 6:06pm
I was extremely impressed by the KM-250 that I played a few days ago. Very punchy, great bluegrass sound with all the chop and projection you would typically want. It's sound was not complex, but, all in all it was an excellent mandolin. The asking price was $295, which after checking around seems high. I see them advertised new for $229-250.

Cooper4205, thanks for the Kentucky link. I'd love to see one of the KM-505 models. Looks like they're looking to claim some of the "upgrade" market, or 2nd mandolin buyers. If they're quality mandolins, they may offer an alternative to the 500 series Eastmans. Who knows?

Caleb
Dec-08-2006, 6:34pm
Can someone chime in and tell what a "radiused fretboard" is and what difference this feature makes?

thanks....

Yuletide