PDA

View Full Version : Airplane regulations and mandos?

JLee
Nov-30-2006, 3:24am
I think someone brought this up before but I'm not sure what the answer was. I am visiting my parents for Christmas and I want to bring my mando to play for them. There is NO WAY that I will get on a plane WITHOUT my mando (I won't check it under the plane). So my question is: do they allow a mando as a carry-on? Even if I'm not a professional musician or anything?

Thanks

trevor
Nov-30-2006, 4:56am
J,
I have read many threads on this and had some personal experience. I think there is only one conclusion. It depends on the folk at the desk on the day. Regulations vary but enforcement varies even more.
Covering a hard case with something softer seems to have a positve effect in being less noticeable.

Stephanie Reiser
Nov-30-2006, 5:53am
I have flown many times with my mandolin. I have never had it "checked-in". I have always been able to carry it on, and stow it in the overhead. I wish they'd want to open the case, so that I could remove it and people would be able to see it, but they could care less.
I bet you will be able to take yours onboard, too.
Have a wonderful Christmas.

Fred Keller
Nov-30-2006, 8:07am
Ditto what Amanda Lyn said. Most recently, I took a trip to England this month--no problem either way getting it on the plane and into the overhead.

Brad Weiss
Nov-30-2006, 8:12am
I've never EVER had anyone question my mandolin on board. I've flown across country at least half a dozen times, trans-Atlantic 2 or 3, and from the UK to East Africa and back - and NEVER been asked to check my instrument. That said, just be nice, act confident (i.e., don't ask if it's ok) and you'll be fine.

fatt-dad
Nov-30-2006, 8:22am
Never had a problem whether interstate or international. I almost always fly with my mandolin when I travel for business and never checked it, even in the dinky planes.

f-d

Dale Ludewig
Nov-30-2006, 8:32am