PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone *never* get the g/d chop

ben_wv
Nov-14-2006, 8:52am
I've been practicing the G/D chop for about six months, and my left hand still cramps up about halfway through a tune.

I swear I'm not intimidated http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif . #I read all about the incredulous reaction most folks have upon being introduced to the chop. #I always thought that, like anything else, with enough practice it would come. #As of yet, not really.

I should say that I've got pork chops for hands. #Well, maybe not that bad. #As far as picking, I'm starting to play some phrases really well, stuff that I didn't think I'd be able to get. #So I can move my fingers around moderatley well.

My question, then, is whether you've heard of, known, or taught anyone who just couldn't physically make the chord, even with determination and practice?

Thanks for any help...

cooper4205
Nov-14-2006, 9:01am
i have been practing them the same length of time and it still happens to me. i think it might be something with my technique, but i never have it happen when i get my lesson. we probably just javen't been at it long enough for the muscles responsible to fully develop yet

Klaus Wutscher
Nov-14-2006, 9:05am
Probably you are referring to the common Monroe chord shape 7/5/2/3 (frets from G to E string). That chord is somewhat tough to fret for most people at first. Good news is that
a) it gets easier to fret this chord further up the neck (easier in A and almost comfortable in B) and
b) you don´t really need this chord at first if you cannot play it. You see, what makes a chord chop is basicly the bottom three strings. The E string does not really add much to that. So, try this chord shape:

G: 4th fret second finger;
d 5th fret third finger
A: 2nd fret first finger ;
do not play the E string.

Chops just as well and is much easier to fret. I still use that chord shape quite frequently.

mandomadman
Nov-14-2006, 9:26am