PDA

View Full Version : Backup/rythm tremolo

Mutiny
Apr-27-2004, 8:36pm
Hey all, they is my first post on the board.
I've been playing guitar for a few years now and just a couple of months ago started teaching myself mandolin.
I was wondering what some methods were to compose backup style tremelo to chord changes. (for when my banjo player takes the lead).
I've tried just playing the root notes of the chords but that sounds kind of bland and crappy.
Thanks,
-Ben

Bruce Evans
Apr-28-2004, 5:28am
Double stops!

Get "Fretboard Roadmaps for Mandolin." Available from Elderly Instruments.

www.elderly.com

duuuude
Apr-28-2004, 8:01am
Yep, like he says. Try trem'ing just two strings using partial chords like the 1st & 3rd of each chord. I get good use out of the D & A strings for simple tunes, and you can keep your hand naturally in a movable position for the full chords, scales or whatever if ya need 'em. Fretboard Roadmaps is a good resource and helped me learn my way around quite a bit, but there's nuthin' like practice, practice, practice.
http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/cool.gif

Mutiny
Apr-28-2004, 7:10pm
Cool. up till now I had thought that double stops were some kind of pause after a note (like a dotted note in a sheet music) http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif
I read the articles about double stops in the techniques section of co-mando.com and they were pretty helpfull.
Are there any other resources like that on the web?
I'll try and pickup that book as soon as I can but $$ are kinda short right now.
thanks.

duuuude
Apr-29-2004, 11:25am
Search in Google, I can't remember just where but I found a couple of places that went into double-stops in depth, think they were guitar sites. Look for some good movable chord shapes, then play around & find your scale notes within & around the shape, find your pentatonics, then your partial chords and double-stops that work.