PDA

View Full Version : any banjo-mandolin (banjolin) fans out there?

fiddlinfool
Sep-21-2006, 11:09am
Is anyone here a fan of the banjo-mandolin (aka banjolin)?

I have an old Kay Master banjo-mandolin from the 1930s that is currently out for repairs (so I can't post pics) but I have been thinking of getting a Gibson for some time now (as the price of a vintage Gibson banjo-mandolin is quite reasonable). I can't explain my affection for the banjo-mandolin - it's just there.

Just wondering if anyone else loves this mandolin variation and if so what do you like about it. Pics are also nice #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

JEStanek
Sep-21-2006, 11:46am
I don't have one but I want one (when I get $$$$). Search it... there were some nice discussions with photos in the past, I believe.

Jamie

allenhopkins
Sep-21-2006, 1:16pm
I own a couple. a Vega Little Wonder and a no-name. I've used them in Celtic and klezmer bands, when a percussive sound that cut through the music was needed, or when the tune had a ragtimey emphasis. I presently work in a Celtic quartet (Innisfree) where the instrumentation is banjolin, hammered dulcimer, accordion, and guitar/mandola/octave mandolin for rhythm. If you'd like to hear what that sounds like, there are a couple MP3's on the Innisfree page of my website:

Innisfree (http://www.allenhopkins.org/innisfree.html)

That's Mark Deprez on banjolin, one he built himself.