PDA

View Full Version : Your favorite tune...

Kirby161
Jan-29-2004, 8:36pm
He has written many reels jigs and the like, but what is your favorite tune by Aidan Crossey?

Aidan Crossey
Jan-30-2004, 5:50am
Well, I know ONE person at least who'll be following this thread with interest! I consider it a great honour that my tunes are deemed worthy of discussion among the mandolin community.

Since you started the thread Kirby ... have you any tunes that you particularly like?

Kirby161
Jan-30-2004, 6:22pm
im not experienced enuf with your materiel, i have looked at the large volume of your songs and only gotten around to playing about 3;
I have been working on Arty McShane and i do like the tune that i get with The Road Home.

Do you have any of your own tunes that you are perticularly fond of?

AussieBruce
Jan-30-2004, 10:26pm
My practice list includes:

Charlie Murray Reel
The Dollaghan Hornpipe
Gerry Crossey's Hornpipe
The Hunker Slide
all copyright Aidan Crossey.

I have to confess to a blasphemy though. I make a note substitution in Gerry Crossey's. It's a little harder to play but to my ear sounds like it 'fits better' with the tune. In the B part, second full measure, fourth note I play D on the A string rather than the open E as composed, and similar in the equivalent sixth measure. Sorry Aidan, but like lots of music of this genre it has variations. Hope you don't mind too much, and I haven't had a visit from Gerry to put me right so it must be OK.