PDA

View Full Version : Bach vs Bluegrass

John Zimm
Apr-21-2004, 8:35am
Hi all,

I thought I would take up some of your time rambling about what I have been playing on the mandolin lately.

I started playing the mandolin with the intention of learning bluegrass and learning how to jam with other players. That is all fine and good, but it turns out I hardly ever play with other people, and trying to solo without other instruments is a little boring. So, I have been addicted to Bach lately. It is so satisfying just sitting down with the mandolin and picking out Bach tunes as best as I can get them. I am still working on the Courant which we discussed in another thread, and the prelude from the same suite. I've also begun to tackle the ubiquitious (at least in the classical guitar world) Fugue BWV 1001.

In a way I feel like Al Pachino in the last Godfather movie when he lamented how he tried to get away from the mob but they kept pulling him back in. After playing the classical guitar for a decade I took up the mandolin to try and play a different kind of music, but I can't seem to pull myself away from classical music. There must be a support group out there for fellas like me. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Thanks for listening to me ramble...

-John.

vkioulaphides
Apr-21-2004, 10:05am
Oh, John... IS there a support group or what? Well, I don't know that the following qualifies as support; it IS, at least, commiseration. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif

Imagine a certain character who, after picking and plucking anything and everything that could be picked and plucked since age 4, decides to make classical music his career— on a bowed string instrument.

Years and years go by. Said character works the saltmines, as per above life-choice, while also mandolinning on the side, in the folkie vein. The intention, of course: to get AWAY from the classics for a change of pace, atmosphere, etc.