PDA

View Full Version : Lotus Festival

John Jesseph
Aug-27-2006, 7:00pm
We just moved to Bloomington three months ago, and the Lotus Festival is just around the corner. #Any recommendations for acts we shouldn't miss?? #Thanks!!! #Artist List for 2006 Lotus Festival (http://www.lotusfest.org/06LotusFestArtists_List.html)

JimRichter
Aug-28-2006, 7:01am
Any of the acts they have at Lotus are worth seeing, but from an acoustic/old time music perspective, I wouldn't miss Uncle Earl.

Jim

delsbrother
Aug-28-2006, 2:17pm
If you're into Indian music, go see Debashish Bhattacharya. He plays several amazing multi-stringed beasts, but the one that I particularly like is an instrument built for him by Canadian luthier Michael Dunn: a uke-sized, four-stringed, mini-weissenborn guitar. Very cool.

Alex of the North
Aug-28-2006, 2:57pm
I'm very jealous. I wish Lotus were a travelling festival... I've already been down to Bloomington once this year (I was a student at IU '93-'97 and currently live in Wisconsin), otherwise, I'd consider going. I went to the first one back in 1994 and it blew me away. I think the Dorkestra forever left an imprint on my mind - and Karl Meyer will always be my musical north star. I wonder what happened to those guys? John, to address your actual question: don't miss the Vida reunion - four women, close harmonies, and world music. It's really remarkable.

John Goodin
Aug-28-2006, 8:58pm
I lived in Bloomington for a long time but was gone before the Lotus Festival got going. I do have fond memories of hearing Lotus himself (Lotus Dickey that is) several times during my time there. If I could be there this year my priorities would be Swap and Vasen. Hopefully Darol Anger will appear with Vasen, I know he's supposed to play with them in Minneapolis at the Nordic Roots festival just before the Lotus. If so he might even bring some mando content to the performance.

John G.

John Jesseph
Sep-01-2006, 10:24am