PDA

View Full Version : Pickups, amps

ctfreak44
Apr-18-2004, 2:53pm
Hey yall-
I need a pickup/amp so bad! i play with the people in my band, who all use electric guitars. my mandolin and I seldom get heard~but, im sooooo confused on what kind of pickup i need, what the heck it is, you know, im totally new to this. im ususally an acoustic gal!

Allyson http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

John Rosett
Apr-18-2004, 6:29pm
allyson-
it is really confusing. there are many options, and it all depends on the instrument you use, the application you use it for, and how much money you want to spend. i play in a band with drums and electric instruments, and a pretty loud monitor mix. i have a mcintyre feather pickup inside my mando, an older fishman preamp and a fender acoustisonic amp. i need the amp to hear myself on stage, as we only have one monitor mix. as it is, the acoustisonic with it's 40 watts isn't really powerful enough. when i can afford it, i'm probably going to get a baggs para acoustic di preamp and a genz benz 100 watt amp. you can see these and many other products like them at elderly instruments website. another thing i'd like to check out are the michael kelly mandolins with the built in pickup system, but there are none around where i live to check out.(anyone using one of these?)
so, if your band situation is anything like mine, i'd suggest a high quality pickup like the mcintyre or pick up the world, a good preamp, and an acoustic amplifier with about 100 watts.
i'm sure there are as many opinions on what to use as people using amplification. there are pickup/microphone combinations with outboard mixers all the way to solid body electric mandos, and people that swear by all of them. i've been playing amplified mandolin for 20+ years, and i'm still looking for something better than i have.
good luck, john

ira
Apr-18-2004, 7:19pm