PDA

View Full Version : What next?

katje
Apr-17-2004, 11:18pm
Well, I've just returned from a beautiful weekend of camping with some guitar-playing friends...we had some definite fun around the campfire! I had a super time, but went to bed secretly a little discouraged, because I feel like I have plateau-ed in my playing and am not sure where to go from here. First of all, I haven't had much luck finding a teacher...I live in a really small town and the pickings are pretty slim (no pun intended). So I basically am self-taught. I have spent quite a bit of time with Steve Kaufman's Bluegrass Workout, and am in between the slow and the fast versions of his songs. Every time I practice I do some exercises both for finger dexterity and pick control, do some Aonzo scales, and lately have been into Tim O'Brien's arpeggios which I found on the web. I've got those down pretty well. I guess my main question is, now that I am familiar with some scales and arpeggios, and can pretty much pick out a melody (albeit not too speedy), what can I do to spice it up a bit? I feel like when I try to take a break (not so much fiddle tunes, but with singing tunes) it is really boring and just sort of plinkety-plink, a note here and there. It's getting old, and I feel stuck. I try to play with cds that are inspiring, but everyone plays so darned fast! I have a couple of Niles Hokkanen's books, which are incredible, but are sorta over my head. I can work through some exercises, but it doesn't stick.

So there you have it! I don't mean to whine or ramble, I'm just frustrated! I love it so, it's just like my fingers can't bring forth what my brain wants them to...the emotion is lacking. Patience, patience....

And one more question. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to better remember lyrics? This too is getting old...I get so caught up in playing I forget the next verse!