PDA

View Full Version : How far from the melody?

Givensman
Apr-16-2004, 12:45pm
Many instrument breaks are technally great, but when played by themselves do not remotely resemble the tune being played and are in fact, a series of runs, fills, endings etc. What do you think about this? We know what Big Mon would think!

John Zimm
Apr-16-2004, 12:51pm
I'd say, as long as the break fits with the feel of the song, this is okay. It sure doesn't make for good playing when you are alone and want to play a solo song, which is why I have been playing a lot of classical lately. But runs, fills, licks, and whatnot are part of the game I think. I am no expert though.

-John.

garyblanchard
Apr-16-2004, 12:53pm
I should preface this by admitting that I don't have a Bluegrass background and have no idea what Big Mon would think. What I find in my own playing is that if I am doing old-timey music I tend to stick to the melody. The other day I was fooling around with "Knockin' on Heaven's Door" and found I was more improvisational. I guess to me the song suggests the approach to take.

(I should also end this post by admitting that I don't play that well, either. #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wow.gif )

Ken Berner
Apr-16-2004, 2:06pm
I've played harmony breaks before on some songs; it breaks up the monotony somewhat. Who is going to shoot you for trying that; y'all might like it!

peterbc
Apr-16-2004, 2:18pm
I tend to try to stick pretty close to the melody most of the time, because if you play the same licks runs, etc, for every break, they all run together (there're only 8 songs after all!). But I play mainly bluegrass, and I've found when I play some different styled tune (rock, etc) I can't cope nearly as well and probably more of a lick/run based solo might work better there...

Peter

cutbait2
Apr-16-2004, 2:21pm
a way to flush out a bunch of notes per second using familiar riffs? i don't know but it seems to be common at live performances......