PDA

View Full Version : Mandocaster - advice needed

mandovino
Jul-23-2006, 12:39am
Hello people,

This is my first post here, I'm a guitarist who happened to buy a Fender electric mandolin several years ago. It was beat up then and it hasn't gotten any better http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif I loved the idea of four strings and the look. I've recorded a little with it and played it live a couple of times over the years.

I'd really appreciate opinions from you guys who know about these things:

Photos (http://randulo1.tempdomainname.com/Mandocaster/)

* What's it worth, in your opinion? I've had several people comment on it and I saw one recently sold on ebay for $1,200.

* Is there a way to know the exact year from the serial number?

* Is there a great player out there who really wants such an instrument, not to collect, but to play? This is an instrument that could be restored but, I've been afraid to touch it and ruin the "value".

There is a text file in the above photos directory with contact and other info, but please understand, this post is not a spam to sell the thing. I'm just asking for any and all comments. The file is there because I have sent the photo directory to individuals who've expressed interest.

Strange1
Jul-23-2006, 4:45am
Looks just like mine except.........mine is LH and seems in better physical shape. Always wondered what it would be worth on the market. I'm sure the Fender Corp would let you know the yr of prod if you wrote them. I purchased mine in 1959.

Jack

Ted Eschliman
Jul-23-2006, 6:59am
Welcome to the board. The Vintage market is a peculiar one, and though I'm certainly no expert, it's been fun to watch the rising popularity of Fender's Vintage Mandocasters. Considering now you can only purchase these through their Custom Shop, a new one weighs in at least $3K. That means even a fixable beat-up but functional one has at minimum, built-in utilitarian value.