PDA

View Full Version : The best all-around mandolin player?

Gotterdamerung
Jul-19-2006, 4:22pm
I’m probably not qualified to answer this question, but I thought that it would be a worthwhile discussion. Perhaps because I am a teacher of the arts, I recognize the inherent difficulties and even the folly of attempting subjective judgments; however, I think that we can possibly objectify this by using a few simple (and some subjective) parameters to make a ranking of what defines "all-around best."

1. Obviously, the skill in playing the mandolin: speed, tone, efficiency, a defined style, etc.
2. Range of material the musician covers, i.e. not just bluegrass, jazz, et. al.
3. Lasting songwriting experience, variety, and ability.
4. Familiarity and comfort playing in different settings—solo, band, etc.
5. Significant depth on several mandolin family instruments: mandolin, mandola, octave mandolin, mandocello. Extra points for fiddle, and you can use your judgment on guitar. Subtract points for banjo #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif
6. A contemporary player—sorry, no Monroe or Apollon.
7. Don’t base this on potential—even if you think the player could do something, you should base it on whether he has, actually.
8. Musical influence

All the preceding lead me to the following top 5:

1. Mike Marshall—simply the greatest all-around player. Certainly the best mandocello player on the planet, if not the greatest mandolin player (some astonishing mandola work, and a mean fiddle and guitar player as well). Extensive song-writing, numerous band incarnations and experience, amazingly varied musical genres.

2. David Grisman
3. Chris Thile
4. Sam Bush
5. Radim Zenkl

Honorable mention: Peter Ostroushko and Andy Statman.

Feel free to disagree, but don’t forget that your opinion should be based on the qualifiers listed above, not just your personal favorite player.

cooper4205
Jul-19-2006, 5:52pm
that's a good list but no wakefield?

DryBones