PDA

View Full Version : Lexicon Omega Recording Studio

dudlebug23
Jul-12-2006, 6:43pm
I have been working with this equipment/software for a few months with some good results, but I was wondering if anyone had some experience with this stuff? My problem with the Lexicon interface is that when you plug in a guitar directly, I get a loud buzz that ends up in the recording. Using a condensor mic is fine though, no buzz.
With Lexicon, I'm just lost! I know how to add the Pantheon effects, but as far as hitpoints, scrubbing, etc. I have absolutely no experience. Any good place to research (in layman's terms) recording software and how to use it? The manual doesn't tell you much. thanks!

steve V. johnson
Jul-13-2006, 1:03am
A friend asked me to help his son with some recording and they had a Lex Omega with a purpose-built fast PC. I didn't understand the software very well (I'm a longtime ProTools guy), and it didn't seem too intuitive, but the tracks the kid had already recorded sounded wonderful.

The preamps in the Omega are great. I think your direct signal buzzes because of a grounding problem of some sort, but I can't really be of much more help than that.

For getting around in the software, I can only suggest the manual. There was a time when recording software (sort of, generally...) conformed to a set of commands that came half from midi sequencers and half from ProTools (which was one of the earliest multi-track recording software pgms). In the last few years, all bets are off, and the more new recording programs I see, the less familiar they seem...

stv

R_Parent
Jul-14-2006, 12:30pm