PDA

View Full Version : tone bar vs. x-brace

Coy Wylie
Apr-12-2004, 10:57am
I'm doing a little research here so any comments will be appreciated. My mando experience thus far has been limited to tone bars. What differences could I expect to find in an x-braced mando? I've heard they can be "overdriven" but I'm not sure what that means. Do they produce a different sound or greater volume? What are the benefits of each?

Thanks!

Apr-12-2004, 11:31am
Hi Willard...can't say i'm an expert on this subject but i've been playing an X-braced A5 alot recently and my .02 is that it has a very wide, warm, sustaining sound right out of the box. This particular one doesn't break up in the least....quite robust in fact. i could see where some folks might consider it to sustain too long for the perfect bluegrass mando the notes don't drop off quickly but this one has good cut and is a very felxible tone. Love it personally. I'd be interested to hear other folks thoughts.

Coy Wylie
Apr-12-2004, 2:09pm
Thanks SC, hopefully some others knowledgeable/experienced players will chime in here.

jlb
Apr-12-2004, 2:21pm
You know if you go to Folk of the Wood's website, in their FAQ section on mandolin, there is a section on bracing where a whole bunch of the big name makers chime in on their opinions on bracing.

pickinNgrinnin
Apr-12-2004, 2:35pm
Here is the link:
http://www.folkofthewood.com/page2168.htm

Great info here by some big names in the business.

I think one of the big advantages of X bracing is that you get great tone and volume right away. Tone bar braced Mandolins can take up to 4 years to fully open.

Coy Wylie
Apr-12-2004, 2:59pm
Thanks PnG!

GBG
Apr-12-2004, 3:08pm
Best to judge the mandolin, not the bracing system used in #the construction.

peter.coombe
Apr-12-2004, 5:14pm