PDA

View Full Version : Second Bluegrass Mando

billydunn
Apr-11-2004, 9:07pm
I started playing bluegrass mandolin a couple months ago, and I'm thinking over the next few months or so I'll probably want to get a nicer one.

Some mandos I'm looking at that seem to be in the right range are the Weber Gallatin and Hyalite, the Gibson A-9, the Rigel A Natural, and the Breedlove Quartz OF and KF.

Some questions:
1) How critical is the F shape to being in a bluegrass band? Most of the F-styles are out of my range.
2) Any thoughts on the Gallatin? It has mahogany back and sides (the others are maple) and I'm wondering if that makes any difference. Also, it doesn't have any binding, and I don't know whether that affects the tone or makes it less structurally sound.
3) I've been mostly looking at the "big names." Are there any small luthiers that I should be looking at? I am in the New England area.

Thanks for you help. I've been reading through the archives on here and learning a lot.

frets1
Apr-11-2004, 9:11pm
If you will spend in the 2k range, you can find yourself a nice Flatiron Festival F. They are GREAT mandolins!

Coy Wylie
Apr-11-2004, 9:12pm
I have a Weber Custom Bitterroot but had the opportunity to play a Gallatin recently. It was very nice. The mahogony gives it a different tone but If I wanted an F and it was in my price range I would get one. On the other hand, a good quality A with F holes will do you just fine for BG.

I saw this one (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=10179&item=3717432317&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW) on ebay... no affiliation, but it is in your price range.

krishna
Apr-11-2004, 10:09pm