PDA

View Full Version : Speed, flow etc.

Bluegrasstjej
Jan-28-2004, 10:48am
I've played the mandolin for 7 years, with some interruptions. I play bluegrass and Irish music mostly. I haven't had the time to practice as much as I need to, but play a lot in periods and I'm getting over the beginner stage, I think. The thing is, I know a good deal of tunes, I am learning to drop the sheet music and play by ear, and I'm quite comfortable on the fretboard (even if I'm not good at the 2nd and 3rd positions, I have plenty to learn there) even if I still have lots to learn. The thing is, I never get enough flow and control. If I play the tune several times I always interrupt somewhere. I just wanted to ask, is it only a question of practice, or is there anything more I can do to practice flow and improve control (I mean to be able to just play on without interruptions)? I don't mind practice and hard work, I just need to plan my life better, but I wonder if there is anything more I would need to do.

Bob DeVellis
Jan-28-2004, 11:22am