PDA

View Full Version : Rigel A+

Miragliuolo
Apr-09-2004, 8:10am
I've never played a Rigel A+. Are they worth checking out? Any opinions? My last mandolin was a Weber Absaroka, any comparisons?

John Flynn
Apr-09-2004, 8:27am
I have had an A+ Deluxe for a year and a half as my main mando. Just so you know where I am coming from, I have been playing fretted instruments for over 30 years, mandolin for about 12 and I play in two active, performing music groups. I consider myself an enthusiastic intermediate player.

I love my A+! It has a great playability, due the the unique neck/fingerboard configuration. It is very loud, able to cut through in even a big jam. Fit and finish were perfect from the factory. It is very sturdily built, so I don't feel the need to handle it with "kid gloves."

The tone is what I would call a great "general" tone that fits in a variety of musical genres. It sounds very pleasing, warm and has good "punch." It is not, however, a pure, classic bluegrass or old-time tone. If I only played bluegrass I have to say I might make a different choice, but I play in a lot of different genres and the A+ does a credible job in all of them.

gretschbigsby
Apr-09-2004, 8:27am
I just came into a Rigel A+ Deluxe... #In a word, awesome. #I was really undecided between getting an F hole A model or an oval sound hole model... #I was looking at all the usual suspects, and was even thinking about having Rigel build one... #The A+'s versatility (and physical beauty) convinced me that this F hole A style was the way to go.#