PDA

View Full Version : Loops unwinding...

JeffS
Apr-08-2004, 11:41pm
So I'm playing today and I here a loud PEEEONG as I plucked my e strings. I thought to myself crap, these are just a few days old. Then I noticed it was still there. So I tune it back up and I hear this high pitched wine and then a thunk. I thought aha, now it broke but it was still there. I finally put on my glasses and saw that the loop end was unwinding and sliding around the hook which holds it like a noose.

Since I'm new to the mandolin and this is only my second pair of strings (Martin), is this common? I had read that it was in the old days and that is why Gibson had patented their tailpiece to have a bend for the a and e strings to follow but modern technology with string making had made this a thing of the past.

Tom C
Apr-09-2004, 6:58am
Are you sure it was unwinding? Sometimes the twisted area by the loop prevents the loop from fitting all the way into the hook. Then all of a sudden it slips into place
and you hear that really scary sound and you are about 2 steps outs of tune.

JeffS
Apr-09-2004, 11:25am
It looked as if had unwound some. The winding slid down the loop to where the loop was very snug on the hook. The string looked pretty rough where the winding had travelled so I replaced the string thinking it would break soon enough.

duuuude
Apr-09-2004, 12:05pm
Ya sure yer gettin the string locked properly at the peg? Check out frets.com for one way of doin' it, I usually just back-wind the excess in the reverse direction a bit before windin' up.
http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/cool.gif

GTison
Apr-09-2004, 12:21pm
Never happend to me in 20 years of playing but I've only used martin maybe once.

phynie
Apr-09-2004, 12:45pm
That has happened to me once or twice. I just chalk it up to a bad set of strings. If it happens again I would call Martin and make em' send you more.

Mark Berry
Jan-08-2012, 9:46am