PDA

View Full Version : What do you expect from a lesson?

Dru Lee Parsec
Jan-27-2004, 7:37pm
Hi folks. #Well, I've been playing guitar for nearly 30 years, and I've been playing mandolin for just about 5 months. #I think I've been picking it up pretty quickly but I decided to take some lessons just to make sure that I'm not developing any really bad habits.

This got me to thinking, I'm learning songs from CDs, from Chris Thile's DVD, from other people at jam sessions and from books. #I'm learning to read music from the Mel Bay Complete Mandolin Method. #Overall I think I've done well being mostly self taught. #

I'm wondering what I should do to get the best use of my teacher's time. #I think at first I'll make sure that my left and right hand position is correct. #We should probably play some scales to make sure that I'm shifting when I should be and not changing hand position when I shouldn't and so on. #

So what do you folks do to get the most out your lessons?

mandomood
Jan-27-2004, 7:50pm
getting the most out of your time with the teacher...

While him watching you and commenting on what he feels is ok and what needs work is great and very necessary, sometimes an open ear just listening while you play slowly thru material you are working on can help too. Playing in front of 'an audience' so to speak and getting comfortable with that is priceless.

Getting comfortable playing 'with' another person too is very useful...swapping breaks or getting an opportunity to really work on a melody while he plays a steady rhythm, or you getting a great chance to play rhythm for him. the band in a box idea is great but so is the sometimes quirky rhythm thrown at you from time to time, keeping it real.