PDA

View Full Version : Are ther any knowledgeable persons?

grafik-obsessions
Apr-07-2004, 6:27am
I am a novice mando player and want to upgrade my (Dean) Playmate Tennessee AE to one of the two models mentioned can you guys help a poor broke ,(but desirous of better quality) ex-navy man on which you prefer. Right now I'm leaning toward the Rigel clone from Goldtone just because I find rigel's style of construction more appealing but the sounds i heard from fotw led me to question this decision... http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

John Flynn
Apr-07-2004, 7:41am
Ex-Navy and a Rigel fan here also. I have played the GoldTone and thought it was great for the money in all respects. I have heard two different MKs up close and I know that they have a lot of fans here on the board. I think they are both good choices, so it sounds like it really comes down to styling for you. If you are leaning toward the GT for style reasons, keep leaning!

grafik-obsessions
Apr-07-2004, 8:16am
http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif Thanks for the quick holler johnny. think I have any more offers of assistance out there?

John Zimm
Apr-07-2004, 8:34am
I have an MK Firefly Flame, and I love it. The tone is very sweet. It doesn't have the same deep base that the Gibson and other higher end models have, but for the money it sounds like a mandolin costing several times what I paid for it. The treble is really sweet and rings beautifully. I also love the look of my MK.

One caveat: it is good to play many MKs if you are thinking of buying one. The quality can really vary. I would never buy one, or any mandolin, from ebay or any other website since I'd have no way of playing it first.