PDA

View Full Version : Eastman 515

falzett
Apr-10-2006, 10:40am
I am a beginner mandolin player. I am interested in getting some thoughts from some of you regarding the Eastman 515 F style mandolins. I want to buy something that will serve me well, even if I should play with advanced musicians. - Thanks

red7flag
Apr-10-2006, 10:59am
I had the pleasure of playing a number of Eastmans at Steve Perry's store Gianna Violins including a 515. #I was very impressed with the tone for the price. #The fit and finish was also very good. #What was especially impressive was the ease of playing. #The Eastmans I played were set up by Steve Perry, with his MandoVoodoo technique. #I cannot speak for Eastmans from other shops, but the ones from his shop were strong. #Here is the link.
http://www.giannaviolins.com/eastmanmandolins/home.html #
I have no connection with Gianna Violins or Eastman.
As you will find out from their website, the 500 lvl Eastmans no longer include the Mandovoodoo technique. I don't know how this effects the sound.
Tony

falzett
Apr-10-2006, 11:14am
Could you compare this to a Michael Kelly Legacy Evolution series? - Thanks

csstanley
Apr-10-2006, 11:25am
Can't compare it to a MK but can to a handmade I had, a Morgan Monroe and a Johnson. Blows everyone of them out of the water.

Best mandolin I've owned so far, tone-wise and volume. And it just keeps getting better.

John M. Riley
Apr-10-2006, 11:34am
what kind of handmade mandolin was it that you had?

falzett
Apr-10-2006, 11:47am
What I am really after is a good long term instrument that will keep me free of the MAS I have heard about, and will serve me well should I become able to play with any good musicians eventually. I like the look of both of these mandolins, but I would like to get more feedback about users experiences. I appreciate any thoughts.

Greenmando
Apr-10-2006, 12:11pm