PDA

View Full Version : Courante from 1st Cello Suite

Jack Roberts
Apr-05-2004, 10:45pm
Some of the fingering it tough on my old bones, but it is somewhat easier to play than the Allemande, although I am playing it at only about 2/3 of the tempo on the sheet music (88).

John Zimm
Apr-08-2004, 9:37am
That's funny, I just started playing this last night. I printed off the whole score for the suite at icking-music-archive.org and have been trying to learn it. I really like the Allemande, although like you say, it is tricky. For some reason the timing on the courante throws me off a little in the beginning.

-John.

Jack Roberts
Apr-08-2004, 11:15am
John:

In the second part of the Courante there is an arpeggio that I have already "swung up" and played at a blue grass jam. #I like the Allemande, but it just took me too long to learn. #Perhaps I started learning something that is too beyond my capability. #After the Prelude and the Allemande, I am glad to be playing the Courante, which for some reason seems more intuitive, although the mixture of 8th and 16th notes spread out over a 3/4 time singature took some getting used to. #I could not seem to get the hang of counting it out "1-2-3-1-2-3" #It was like rubbing my belly and patting my head... #I started to get it when Victor clued me into the "running" idea. #I just imagine a child skipping and running, and I tap my foot without trying to count. #I get a lot of help from listening to the Rostropovitch cello recordings.

I'm glad someone else is sharing the joy of these pieces.

Jack

John Zimm
Apr-08-2004, 1:01pm
Hey Jack,

Thanks for the tip with the Rostropovitch recordings. I just placed a hold at the local library. I look forward to hearing how a professional plays this.