PDA

View Full Version : My "new" old mando

klbrackin
Mar-25-2006, 9:23pm
When my great-uncle passed away some years ago I got his mandolin. #It sat un-used until recently when I got the bug to try something new. #Checking the serial number with Gibson, it is a 1947 A-50. #So, I'm new to this forum AND to playing mandolin.
http://www.muyfa.com/kurt/Mando/mandofront.JPG
http://www.muyfa.com/kurt/Mando/mandoback.JPG

Baron Collins-Hill
Mar-25-2006, 9:25pm
wow, thats a great looking mandolin. welcome to the cafe. pretty soon youll be like most of us, youll live and breathe mandolins and spend most of you time playing them or surfing the cafe, and all of your time thinking about mandolins. keep plugging away, its all uphill from here.

baron

Tweeder
Mar-25-2006, 10:22pm
She sure is purty! Welcome to the Cafe! I'm new to the mando myself. Like Baron said, you'll get HOOKED!

Not to change the subject...But Baron I saw the manduo page on myspace! Good Pick'n! Can you make it so I can have one of your songs on my profile?

Baron Collins-Hill
Mar-25-2006, 10:32pm
ill try

baron

Antlurz
Mar-25-2006, 10:53pm
Nice lookin' old A model. That back board wood is really nice... AND different.

Ron

f5loar
Mar-28-2006, 12:02pm
Gibson shows the A50 post wars starting in 1948. How did you get 1947? What is the serial number which is actually the factory order number as serial numbers were not assigned to lower end instruments? Checking their site for reference can give you false information if you don't know how to use it. From what I can see it is a late 40's/early 50's but without that stamp number in the lower F hole it would be hard to pin it down. Also were tuners replaced or just the end buttons?

klbrackin
Mar-28-2006, 7:50pm
I emailed Gibson Customer Service and got this reply;
The serial number is consistent with models made in 1947. #Here are the specs for the A-50 mandolin.