PDA

View Full Version : Irish Rhythm Guitar Playing

John Flynn
Apr-05-2004, 2:20pm
I am very new to Irish music and I attended my first Irish sessions this past weekend. I was playing the mando, but I also play the guitar and a good crutch I have used in other kinds of jams is to look at the chords the guitar players to help me figure out the tune. However, in these Irish sessions, the guitar players were not playing standard guitar chords. They were generally only fretting two or three strings and sliding up and down the neck with each change. Can anyone tell me more about this? Were they in a tuning? Are there resources on the 'net that can give me primer on what they were doing? Thanks in advance.

jmcgann
Apr-05-2004, 3:40pm
Most likely they were using DADGAD (low to high) which has become very popular in the Irish world. However, only the 6th, 2nd and 1st strings are changed- the meat and potatoes of the stuff they were sliding with (hint- think partial chords on those strings and/or harmonized scales in thirds) was probably on strings 5 4 and 3, which are the same as standard. It's a cool sound.

Some mando players like Andy Irvine like G D A D. He doesn't really play melody much; you always trade off something when you go for alternate tunings; in that case you lose some high melody note potential in first position...it's a great sound for rhythm as you can let that high D string drone open and do moving stuff on the bottom, like the DADGAD folk.

withak
Apr-06-2004, 2:45pm