PDA

View Full Version : Rawhide

keymandoplyr
Mar-24-2006, 12:17pm
Been playin about 3 1/2 years I know some on the board can play Rawhide. After downloading the tab (8 pages ) wondering who all on here plays it and how long it took to get it mastered ? I told my wife that learning to play that like Monroe should earn a lifetime achievement award ?? lol Happy pickin ! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

sgarrity
Mar-24-2006, 12:28pm
I love the Monroe style and can play a handful of Monroe tunes. But Rawhide just stumps me. It just doesn't sound right to me unless it's played at a fairly quick tempo and I just can't seem to get it under my fingers.

John M. Riley
Mar-24-2006, 12:54pm
i learned to play rawhide probably after I had been playing a year and a half or so on the mandolin. But of course I can play it alot better and with alot more notes now as I have been playing for about 3 years.

Fretbear
Mar-24-2006, 2:00pm
It's one of those things WSM left for us "just to remember" and it is always there for us to work on, whatever level we are at...I have been working it lately...it's all about the rhythm and keeping it smooth...it's kind of like "Foggy Mountain Breakdown" must be for b@#jo players..it doesn't matter whether you like it or not, you kind of have to be able to play it, like a rite of passage.

tree
Mar-24-2006, 4:47pm
The trick for getting it up to speed, for me, was to keep plowing with the right (picking) hand and let the left hand catch up. With enough work, it eventualy does.

The real trick is figuring out where the notes are. Had to do that first, and strangely enough, Back Up And Push helped me to do that. It has one of the key phases in it, and it was slow enough for me to hear it and figure out where it was.

tattiemando
Mar-28-2006, 11:56am