PDA

View Full Version : Beginner  A-Style or F-Style

Kent Black
Apr-03-2004, 9:08pm
Hello, I am looking to purchase a mandolin and have read a lot of posts on this subject but I still don't know what to buy. I was looking at a Washburn A-Style or a Morgan Monroe Bean Blossom F-Style. I need to stay under $400 but would prefer to go around the $200 mark since I am just beginning. Any help or recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks
Kent

John Flynn
Apr-03-2004, 9:22pm
Just MHO, but I would get a Kentucky 250S for about $215 and then spend $75-100 to have a mandolin luthier do a full set up on it. That may sound like a lot to spend on a $215 mandolin, but it will be worth it. If you can afford a little more, do the same with a Kentucky 350S.

Magnus Geijer
Apr-03-2004, 9:29pm
In that price range, you really don't want to buy an f-style.

Kent Black
Apr-04-2004, 9:14am
Thanks for the information, does anyone know who can set one up around Chattanooga TN?

tnpathfinder
Apr-07-2004, 12:49pm
I would make a day trip to Nashville. There are some really good shop's there that could do it. I have no idea about Chattanooga. I bought a Kentucky km-380s and it is mandatory to have a real mando set-up done. Don't be fooled...just because the guy at your shop can set-up a guitar doesn't mean he really knows how to properly set-up a mando. I speak from experience. I was ready to trash my 380s until I had it checked out. Now I love it for what I paid. about $400 with a hard case and a tuner. Make them work with you on price because of that reason.

Good luck in your search.

PCypert
Apr-09-2004, 6:44pm
Hey,