PDA

View Full Version : The Joy of a Mandolin/Introduction

austinbristow
Mar-10-2006, 8:23am
Hello everyone at the cafe. Ive posted on here before but only to ask the same beginner mando questions you all get 100 times a year. Anyways my mando vocabulary/knowledge is finally reaching the point where, when i read the cafe board, i dont feel as clueless as i do in a math class.

Anyways my names Austin and i live in Norman, Ok. At 20 I think im below the age median on the board. Throughout my teenage years i experienced music, not hands on but listening, from #### to amazing. At one point I discovered my fathers cd of The David Grisman Rounder Compact Disc. I fell in love with the mando. At the time i was dealing with my on again off again mostly off interest in the drums, which i had been playing for several years.

Now i dunno if ill catch heat for it or not on this board but at the time all i listened to was the dead. Last summer i followed my love for jam music to Red Rocks to see String Cheese. At the concert i was lucky enough to see ymsb who rekindled my love for the mandolin.

As soon as i returned to Norman i began the pursuit of buying a mando. My girlfriend of four years, who is now a music education major at OCU in oklahoma city, told me no one should be neglected from attempting to express themselves musically through whatever medium they choose.
So she purchased me a cheap mandolin from the local music store. At $150 its not a beauty but guess what, turns out it has the same fingerings as a good mandolin!

Anyways since the summer the absolute joy i have felt everyday from my mando is overwhelming! Some days when im at school and begin to think about it i feel like a (younger) kid the night before christmas. I cant wait to get home and play it. UNfortunatley this becomes all i can think about and the rest of my school day becomes a loss ~.