PDA

View Full Version : Gibson A 1

mandopik
Mar-07-2006, 12:01pm
I've seen a 1915 Gibson A 1 model that looks to be in excellent condition with all original adornments-- finish looks great with no cracks or dents. My question is I'm a novice and have no resources to say what would a reasonable price -- maybe even a top price so I don't spend more than it'll ever be worth-- even though I kid myself that it's an investment - I doubt that I'll ever dispose of it if it turns out to be as good as it looks on the internet!
Thanks for any comments/info about worth!

danb
Mar-07-2006, 12:26pm
can you link us to the item? We can tell better if it really is all original and good condition that way.. but figure $800-1300 is the range for them..

manjitsu
Mar-07-2006, 12:28pm
Well, having owned a few of these I'll chime in here.

Top dollar seems to be in the $1400-$1500 range, but I've seen really nice examples sell for as little as $1000, too, from individual sellers rather than dealers.

-Chris Rorrer

manjitsu
Mar-07-2006, 12:29pm
...Yep. What Dan said. All depends on originality and condition. OHSC is a plus, too.

-Chris Rorrer

mandopik
Mar-07-2006, 12:34pm
I saw it on EBAY today for the 1st time this morning-- the pics really look nice-- it's ebay item #7396255242-- check it out and let me know if you will -- thanks!

Greenmando
Mar-07-2006, 12:55pm
LINK (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.ebay.com%3A80%2F7396255242)

http://i20.ebayimg.com/04/i/06/70/40/d0_1.JPG

manjitsu
Mar-07-2006, 12:55pm
At first glance, it looks very nice to me, too. Definitely priced towards the highest end of the spectrum, though. Ebay is always something of a risk (and some folks absolutely will not buy an instrument from ebay, for very valid reasons.)