PDA

View Full Version : Beginner mandolin playing question

dash11
Mar-02-2006, 10:11pm
I recently began playing and I was wondering if it was a must that I do up and down strokes. #For a while I was playing with all down strokes. #I purchased an instructional video and it taught otherwise.

chuck.naill
Mar-02-2006, 10:47pm
Most pickers use the down and up method.

Chuck

SpookyReverb
Mar-02-2006, 10:51pm
You know, I hadn't even thought about that until a week ago. I've been playing guitar for years, so the up-down thing came naturally when I started playing mandolin a few weeks ago.

My brother, on the other hand, was having a go at my mandolin, and he could only downpick. I think if you are double-picking/fast-picking, whatever it is called, you can go faster, and it has a much more flowing sound.

JEStanek
Mar-02-2006, 11:19pm
Dash,
I have the same problem of wanting to downstroke only. #This really holds me back in terms of speed and getting a fuller sound. #A good excercise Anthony Hannigan (of the Hickory Project) gave at a clinic I attended was a drill he said he did everyday for 15 minutes or so. #Just pick up and down on each course until you get a good tone. #Then move to the next until you've done all four. #Then do the G down and the A up. #Then G down D up, mix it up so you skip a course or skip two or skip none.

This will help you build muscle memory and it will eventually feel more natural/normal. #It takes time. #Go slow. #As you get used to doing this excercise build up speed. #As you build speed practice your scales with the up/down pattern too.

Finally, take a tune that you can pick the melody on really well with the downstrokes only (a tune you know really well). #Then "re-learn" it at a slow speed doing the down up pattern. #Give yourself time and patience to try this.

Good Luck and Happy pickin!
Jamie

stevem
Mar-02-2006, 11:24pm