PDA

View Full Version : A Question On The Mandolin

Knight340
Jan-26-2004, 8:13am
Hello to all.iam new to the fourm here.my question is i have been playing the guitar for ten years now and have been wanting to learn bluegrass mandolin.can anyone tell me if going from the guitar to the mandolin would be verry hard.and since i am on a tight budget money wize.i was wondering if i can get decent sound from a flat top mandolin to start out on.or can someone recomend a good starter model that doesnt cost a hole lot.and then once i learn better i would move up to the f5 mandolin.thanks for any responce to my question.

Stillpicking
Jan-26-2004, 9:01am
I learned how to play guitar first and then went to mandolin with no problem. The only thing that happened to me was I now play my mandolins a lot more than my guitar. Watch out for MAS . As far as laerning on a flat top and then moving up to an "F" that all depends on what kind of music you are into if it is bluegrass then you probably will want an "F" but Irish you would want to have an "A" type mandolin. Just type in a search on this site you you will find tons of options about what to buy and where to buy it.
Good luck !

GTison
Jan-26-2004, 9:07am
that's exactly what I did in 1984. bought a used KM flattop mando for about 90 bucks cause it played easy. and took some lessons then after a year or so started the search for a better mandolin. 'bought a 84 KM1000 cost about 750 (wish I'd bought a monteleone at $3000) KM is now worth about 1200 + -, montleone worth about $25000 today.

Knight340
Jan-26-2004, 11:55am
Thanks for the good information.i think ill start with an A model since there cheaper.but bluegrass is what i want to learn to play.with all the wood working tools i have i think while i am learning on the A model ill try and build me a F model.seems theres some good information on the subject of building mandolins here at the cafe.thanks again for the information.

mad dawg
Jan-26-2004, 4:01pm