PDA

View Full Version : Mandola again...

catmandu2
Feb-11-2006, 2:49am
So, I brought home my new/used TC 325 yesterday--early V-day gift from wife. I've spent the past two nights playing it, as I'm quite smitten with it. I don't know how much I'll be playing my zouk now, which I have capoed-off at about 19", because I enjoy the timbre and the compactness of the dola -- I find that I can easily drop the A string to G for a zouk-like CGDG tuning, which makes it even more versatile for me. Being a long time guitarist, I'm more attuned to the lower timbral qualities of the larger mandos, so I think I may be using this more and more as I arrange more of my repertoire for it. I play a lot of solo mando stuff, so it works quite well for me. Anyway, just wanted to share my joy. The TCs are simple but substantial in construction and feel quite nice. I'm interested in hearing what others are doing with their dolas, stylistically.

morgan
Feb-12-2006, 9:28am
Hello catmandu, I’m also a new mandola owner and loving it. I've had my Spira mandola for about 6 months. Its a great instrument with a marvelous sweet ringing sustain (there's some fotos in the "post a picture..." thread.) I’m still figuring out how to use it, but I try to take advantage of that sound, which I guess means not being too busy, using slides and double stops, and finding chord voicings that ring over the melody. Playing with folks, I find it sounds best in spare or open arrangements so the sustain can be heard, and its great for harmonies. At Christmas I played harmony behind a recorder duo playing Renaissance music and it sounded very sweet.

Playing solo, lately I’ve been trying to work on Niles Hokkanen’s “clawhammer mandolin” style, which features playing across the strings with drones or harmony notes on the high strings and the melody mostly on the lower strings. The ring and sustain are great for this style. I’ve only gotten a couple of tunes worked up but there’s lots of potential.