PDA

View Full Version : Absolute beginner

samfan
Feb-07-2006, 10:14am
I just moved to Missouri from California, so I'm not familiar with this place, or I would find a teacher. I got a mandolin as a surprise about two weeks ago from a close friend, signed by my heroes. I am a complete beginner at mandolin. I've played some simple chords on guitar before, but that's about it.

I've purchased Dix Bruce's "You Can Teach Yourself Mandolin" with the accompanying DVD (for some reason, the only option was book and DVD from Amazon). I'm not sure what to think about it. I've gotten to "He's Got the Whole World in his Hands" and I can play that, though, ha.

Sam Bush has mentioned in the past that you need to first learn your chords and chops, yet most of the videos I've seen that he's in are mostly note picking rather than chords. I admit what he does sounds interesting, as does what I've seen from Butch Baldasari, but I feel both of them go too fast for me on the video. And Sam even tries to slow it down a bit.

What should I start with? Chords? Scales? Combination of both?

You can see a picture of the mandolin (a Rogue starter mandolin, F-style -

here (http://www.mandolincafe.net/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=15;t=31965) .

Sam and I joke that I will be the next Sam Bush, but I really need to get started and I'm not sure how. I've been through MandolinCafe and MandoZine, but it's kind of like being lost in a new place, not knowing which direction to turn. If anyone can be of assistance or offer advice for an absolute beginner, I'd appreciate it!

Thanks!

groveland
Feb-07-2006, 2:15pm
I offer the link below as a quick tutorial on how to build mandolin chords. Once you get that under your belt, you'll be a walking chord generator. IMHO.

harwilli55
Feb-07-2006, 5:06pm