PDA

View Full Version : Cost of Instruments...putting it into perspective

Big Juan
Feb-03-2006, 2:52pm
I'm a newbie here.....been reading a lot, but not posting much. I've primarily played banjo and guitar for many, many moons and have dallied a little with mandolins from time to time and am now thinking I want to do more with them.

Prices of various instruments, services, etc. always seem to be an issue. For what it's worth, here's my take on that topic. I have spent several thousand dollars on musical instruments over the years. I haven't spent as much as a lot of people, but I've spent plenty! The way I see it, I play my instruments every day. There have been very, very few days over the past 40 years that I haven't done some picking. Very few. What else do we spend our money on that gives us so much pleasure and enjoyment? I have a 5th wheel camper I bought used for $8,000 and we probably use it 10 times a year, if that. People pay thousands of dollars for 4-wheelers, boats, snowmobiles, etc., etc., and after a few years they are worth little of nothing and they don't use them a fraction of the time that most of us use our instruments!!! Plus, if you so desire you can usually get most if not all of your money back on a quality instrument. Some will even appreciate in value. Can we say the same about other things we throw our money into?

The point here is if you enjoy playing music as much as I do, don't be afraid to sink some money into your instruments. It will probably be the best money you will ever spend. If you have your eye on a particular instrument, find a way to buy it!!! Sell something you already have, beg, borrow (don't steal!) and save until you can get it. Don't settle for something less because you won't be happy with it.