PDA

View Full Version : How long for lessons?

chovie d
Feb-02-2006, 2:39pm
For those of you who started with lessons from a private instructor. about how long did you keep taking lessons?
Thanks-

Tom C
Feb-02-2006, 3:03pm
I started playing about 7 years ago at 35 years old. I took lessons faithfully for 3-4 years. It's good in that it kept me motivated to learn and be ready for the next lesson. Since Jorma Kaukonen turned my mentor into a rocker and has been on the road alot over the last 3 years with him, I still get over there once a month or so. After those first 3-4 years I started playing ALOT more with others which complimented all those lessons nicely. Now I'm holding the ball in that when I go for a lesson I have things in mind that I want to learn or improve upon. For
instance, Glendale train is a great tune, but I was having troubles playing a
break in that I was basically following the words, so he was able to help me make
it sound more bluegrassy.

Jackie Walters
Feb-03-2006, 7:13am
I'm in lessons, and it's going on 2 years..Has my instructor ran out of things to teach me? NO. I'm 46 and enjoy every minute of it..Sometimes I don't catch things the first time around, and he'll cover them again maybe a month later..Hats off to ALL instructors...they have the patience of Job, and then some!
Angelfire

James P
Feb-03-2006, 12:07pm
I did an hour a week for the first five months. Since then I've scaled back to every other week just to give me more time to absorb the material between lessons.

chovie d
Feb-03-2006, 12:48pm
Thanks guys. having a hard time getting the money and time together for weekly lessons.

Teachers , what is the average length of stay for your students? Do you hate students that come every other week, once a month or even less often?

Ok maybe hate is too strong a word...hehe...I am sure you prefer regular weekly students (and income, hey who wouldnt?). Lets say annoyed by rather than hate.

John Craton
Feb-03-2006, 2:18pm