PDA

View Full Version : mando easier to play than guitar?

Repent34
Feb-01-2006, 1:44pm
This is my first post so I'll say hello to all. I've been lurking for about a week or so, reading as much as I can. I am a total newb to mandolin and currently own an Ibanez acoustic guitar that I've been trying to learn.

I ordered a beginner mandolin, a Johnson Savannah MF100 to try out to see if I even like the mando, although I do know that I like it's look, especially the "F" style, and I love it's sound. I recently attended an Alison Kraus Union Station concert and loved hearing Dan play his. AKUS and Nickel Creek are my first and only exposure to the mando and I can see by my reading that there are many other players that I want to listen to and check out.

I have searched this forum for this question, and having found no answer, I'll ask it here:

1.) I read on a site, FOTW I think, that stated that learning and playing the mando was easier than guitar. I am wondering if users here could shed any light on that? Is it true and or have there been an studies or legit information published on this? I know that statement probably depends on the ability, motivation, etc of each player.
2.) I ordered the Johnson MF100 before I got involved in reading this site so I hope it's not a heap. It looks nice but the sound? Are there any Johnson MF100 owners here and if so, what do you think of your Johnson mando??

Thanks for any info to these questions and if I missed any previous posts comparing the mando and guitar hopefully someone can include a link in a reply.

otterly2k
Feb-01-2006, 1:53pm
I'll let others chime in who know about Johnson mandos.

re: guitar vs. mando...